10:22 AM

Dirham (UAE) currency

Posted by Saleem Mukati

Dirham is the name of the official currencies of the countries United Arab Emirates and Morocco. It also serves as the subunit of the currencies Qatar riyal (equal to 1/100 of riyal), Libyan dinar (equal 1/1000 of dinar), and Jordanian dinar (equal to 1/10 of dinar). As the currency of United Arab Emirates, dirham is called Emirati dirham that is denoted with the symbol "د.إ" in the Arabic language that translates A.D and is also denoted as "DH or Dhs" in the unofficial abbreviated form. The Emirati dirham is divided into 100 parts of the subunit known as "fils". 

According to the ISO 4217 standard, the currency code for the United Arab Emirates dirham is AED and the numeric code for it is 784. The currency is in operation since 1973 when it was introduced for the first time replacing the Qatar and Dubai riyal.


santia said...

I like Dinar.and its revaluation of currency.

techglobusindia said...

restaurant Bahrain

Post a Comment