1:47 AM

Pakistani Rupee

Posted by Saleem Mukati

The official currency of Pakistan is the rupee (PKR). One rupee consists of 100 paise (singular = paisa). When Pakistan began printing its own currency in 1948, they used Indian currency with "Pakistan" stamped on it for the first few months until enough of the Pakistani notes were in circulation. Until 1961, the rupee was divided into 16 Annas before being changed to 100 paise. From the time of the rupee's introduction until the turn of the 21 st century, it steadily declined in value against the U.S. dollar. Then, Pakistan's large current-account surplus drove up the value of the rupee until the government lowered interest rates and bought dollars to stabilize the currencies value and maintain its export competitiveness


Post a Comment